Camping in Caseville!

This month I did a ton of little mini vacations with different groups of people. It was so fun each week looking forward to a new adventure that weekend! The first trip I went on was with my boyfriend (John) and another couple that we are friends with! We decided to go camping up north in Caseville. This was going to be my first time really camping. I was super excited but also a little nervous! I had been to Caseville many times before staying at friends cottages. If you don’t live in Michigan you may not know this, but Caseville is a super popular beachy small town. Its located at the top of the thumb and its absolutely beautiful! Caseville reminds me so much of Daytona beach for some strange reason. Its like this tropical beach party town that should be on the ocean somehow got lost and wound up here in Michigan! We camped in sleeper state park. It was nice there but SUPER spidery! Ew! That was the only part about camping I didn’t like. I was constantly afraid of bugs crawling on me, on my clothes, in my bed ect ect. We arrived Friday night at our campsite and really just had a bonfire and went to bed. The next day however was much more exciting! We were off to kayak to Turnip rock. We drove into Port Austin and rented kayaks from Port Austin kayak. Let me give you one piece of advice, either get there at the  crack of dawn or make reservations! We were kinda lazy that morning and got there way too late. We waited three hours for kayaks, and we were all a little frustrated by the time we got them. However the wait was worth it! Turnip rock was beautiful and so much fun. It was a hard trip for me. On the way back I was exhausted and my arms were super sore, but I was very determined to do the whole thing! Which I did and I was really proud of myself for.

IMG_7176IMG_7132IMG_7131

IMG_7139IMG_7147The trip was definitely worth the wait. At Turnip rock  there were a bunch of other people (somehow we managed to get pictures without everyone else in them! lol) and it was like a little party. Some people had drinks, but everyone was just there floating around and hanging out. That night we made “chicken in armor” or “veggies in armor” for me! It was really yummy and we were all super proud of ourselves for making real food. IMG_7153

Heres a blurry picture of John doing the cooking! The next day we went to a quiet little beach and spent most of our day there. It was lovely! I don’t know why but I just love these pictures of us walking in the water. They were completely candid and I just think they’re pretty.

IMG_7164IMG_7165

Heres us being dorky in our matching Michigan shirts….. hahaIMG_7182

This was such a great trip, and such a good time with people I love. I feel like after something like this you can’t help but feel closer to the people you went with, and I am so thankful for that.

IMG_7174

Leave a comment