Our culture and boredom

With my first year of college behind me, my life immediately began to slow down. I’m not doing homework and studying madly in between every other thing I had to get done, I have time. What a strange concept that is. Extra time, free time, time to spare.

Before school was over I was taking seventeen credits and working 14-16 hours a week. I was a busy busy bee. I never slowed down and never stopped. I daydreamed about having nothing to do. Honestly I couldn’t wait to just wake up and know that I had nothing to do that day. Well here I am. Nothing to do. And I am anything but content. I feel this almost desperate pressure to find something to do or get someone to hang out or accomplish something. I have cleaned my room like no other, gone through all my clothes, made about a million crafts and even homemade sugar wax. I began filling my days with mindless tasks to finish, trying to keep up that ever present buzz of society. But the more I fill my days, the emptier I feel.

I am a product of our society. We value more. The more you can accomplish,and the more you can multi-task the better. The more errands you run, friends you see ect ect. We don’t respect rest and downtime, its viewed instead as lazy. I’m this exact way, if i stay in bed past 9 I instantly feel like a bum. I totally disregard the fact that I was getting sleep that my body must have needed and restoring myself.

I know this might seem a bit out of place on a blog thats all about adventures. But I have another challenge for you. Ready? Do Nothing. Heres the catch- do nothing, and be okay with it. Be proud of it. When somebody asks you what you did today, tell them with confidence that you rested. You restored yourself. You took care of yourself. You were lazy as all get out.

If you’re anything like me, this will be hard for you. But I’m gonna be taking this challenge along with you, and *sarcastic tone* maybe together, we can accomplish absolutely nothing. In all seriousness, even busy bees need to rest. We all need to be a little less hard on ourselves, and give ourselves grace.

So here’s to a new adventure, slowing down. It is okay to not be busy. It is good to rest. It is amazing to be still and know.

3 thoughts on “Our culture and boredom

  1. This has been on my mind so much lately. I recently graduated college and have been working part-time (some weeks full-time based on necessity). But that’s all it is: a job. It pays but I feel no emotional commitment to it, and it’s rarely fulfilling. Having one or two days off messes me up. I run around trying to be “productive”, trying to pass the time by doing something that feels worthwhile, but it doesn’t come around often. Some days a trip to the local pharmacy is the most exciting thing and that scares me. Is this what real life is like? Just a mindless society so consumed by “busy” work to replace a banal existence? Everyone brags about how busy they are, as if busy-ness is worth reward and praise. Why do we constantly feel like we need to be “on”? Still something I’m working through. Thank you for sharing your words on this.

Leave a comment